The Gaydon Prize

Awarded for the best paper at the International Combustion Symposium with at least one British Section member as author (rules).

2020: 38th Symposium: A. W. Skiba, T. F. Guiberti, W. R. Boyette, W. L. Roberts and E. Mastorakos, “On the bi-stable nature of turbulent premixed bluff-body stabilized flames at elevated pressure and near lean blow-off”, Proc. Comb. Inst. 38, 2853-2860, (2021)

2018: 37th Symposium: J. W. Martin, K. Bowal, A. Menon, R. I. Slavchov, J. Akroyd, S. Mosbach and M. Kraft, “Polar curved polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in soot formation”, Proc. Comb. Inst. 37, 1117-1123, (2019)

2016 36th Symposium: A. J. Aspden, “A numerical study of diffusive effects in turbulent lean premixed hydrogen flames”, Proc. Comb. Inst. 36,1997–2004, (2017).

2012 34th Symposium: N. A. Worth and J. R. Dawson. "Self-excited circumferential instabilities in a model annular gas turbine combustor: Global flame dynamics" Proc. Comb. Inst. 34(2): 3127-3134 (2013).

2010 33rd Symposium: D. Bradley, M. Lawes and M. Mansour. "Measurement of turbulent burning velocities in implosions at high pressures" Proc. Comb. Inst. 33(1): 1269-1275 (2011).

2008 32nd Symposium: P. Schroll, A. P. Wandel, R. S. Cant, E. Mastorakos. "Direct numerical simulations of auto-ignition in turbulent two-phase flows" Proc. Comb. Inst. 32(2): 2275-2282 (2009).

2006 31st Symposium: N. Morgan, M. Kraft, M. Balthasar, D. Wong, M. Frenklach and P. Mitchell, "Numerical Simulations of soot aggregation in premixed laminar flames" Proc. Comb. Inst. 31(1): 693 - 700 (2007).

2004 30th Symposium: S. Gashi, J. Hult, K. Jenkins, N. Chakraborty, R. S. Cant and C. Kaminski, "Curvature and wrinkling of premixed flame kernels - comparisons of OH PLIF and DNS data" Proc. Comb. Inst. 30(1): 809-817 (2005).

2002 29th Symposium: R. P. Lindstedt and S. A. Louloudi, "Joint Scalar Transported Probability Density Function Modeling of Turbulent Methanol Jet Diffusion Flames" Proc. Comb. Inst. 29(2): 2147-2154 (2002).

2000 28th Symposium: X. Jiang and K. H. Luo, "Combustion-Induced Buoyancy Effects of an Axisymmetric Reactive Plume" Proc. Comb. Inst. 28(2): 1989-1995 (2000).