Newsletter June 2021


  • 12th European Combustion Meeting: Edinburgh, April 13th-16th 2025

  • Seminar Series: Hydrogen Safety, Prof Jennifer Wen (Warwick), June 30th 4pm

  • AGM

  • Nominations for Committee Members

  • Jobs

  • Travel grant reminder

12th European Combustion Meeting: Edinburgh, April 13th-16th 2025

British Section Seminar Series: Hydrogen combustion in the context of fire and explosion safety

Professor Jennifer Wen (University of Warwick): Hydrogen combustion in the context of fire and explosion safety: overview of previous work, some knowledge gaps and new development

Date: 30th of June 2021 at 4pm

Further details can be found here.

AGM & IoP Early Career Researchers' Meeting (23rd September)

The section AGM will take place on Thursday 23rd September and will coincide with the one-day online Early Career Researchers’ Meeting of the Institute of Physics, Combustion Physics Group.

Invited lecture by Dr Gautam Kalghatgi, recipient of the Huw Edwards Award for Outstanding Contribution to Combustion Physics

The aim of the meeting is to provide a forum for contributions on current research in topics relevant to combustion physics and an opportunity to meet other researchers and industrialists. The meeting is sponsored by the IOP and will provide industrialists with a broad view of current combustion research and a chance to meet potential recruits in the field.

The meeting includes oral and poster presentations from early careers researchers from leading research groups in the field of Combustion Physics and covers many varied aspects of combustion. The meeting is open to members and non-members of the Institute of Physics and promises to be an interesting and constructive day of presentations and discussions about current research topics in Combustion Physics.

More details can be found here.

Nominations for Committee Members

Nominations are invited for Membership of the Committee of the British Section of the Combustion Institute. Each nomination should be accompanied by two additional endorsements from members of the section and a paragraph describing the nominee. Nominations should be received by the secretary, Dr Salvador Navarro-Martinez,, by the 17th of July. The rules governing the subsequent election of committee members are available here. The elected candidates are expected to attend committee meetings (four per year) and contribute to the running of the section.

A list of current committee members is below, the terms of Dr Andy Aspden and Dr Amanda Lea-Langton, and Dr Konstantina Vogiatzaki are ending. Dr Andy Aspden and Dr Konstantina Vogiatzaki have agreed to stand for another term.

Committee members June 2021:

  • Dr Andy Aspden, Newcastle University, Webmaster & Newsletters, (2018-2021)

  • Prof Roger Cracknell, Shell, Director, Combustion Institute, (co-opted)

  • Prof Simone Hochgreb, University of Cambridge, Chairperson, (2017-2021)

  • Dr Kevin J Hughes, Sheffield University, Treasurer & Membership Secretary, (co-opted)

  • Dr Amanda Lea-Langton, University of Manchester (2015-2018; 2018-2021)

  • Prof Epaminondas Mastorakos, University of Cambridge, Associate Editor of C&F, (co-opted)

  • Dr Salvador Navarro-Martinez, Imperial College, Secretary, (2017-2020; 2020-2023)

  • Dr Brian Peterson, University of Edinburgh (2020-2023)

  • Dr Sureh Sadasivuni, Siemens Industrial Turbomachinery Ltd (2020-2023)

  • Dr Agustin Valera-Medina, University of Cardiff (2019-2022)

  • Dr Konstantina Vogiatzaki, University of Brighton (2018-2021)

  • Prof Jennifer Wen, University of Warkwick (2019-2022)


If you would like to advertise and available position to members of the British Section, please email


Travel Grants

Please note that only people who were a member in the preceding year are eligible to receive a travel grant.

We ask supervisors to remind students and postdocs to sign up by completing this form and sending it to the membership secretary.

CI Registration

Note that you need to register with the main CI website to receive emails from the International Section and to vote for the CI elections.